The southwest Minnesota workforce development board

The Southwest Minnesota Workforce Development Board is one of Minnesota’s 16 local workforce boards designated under the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act of 2014. The Board is comprised of a majority business representatives, as well workforce, education, government, economic development, and community stakeholders. The board is dedicated to provide a diverse and quality workforce that best meets the needs and challenges of the 14 county area of Southwest Minnesota. These counties include Big Stone, Chippewa, Cottonwood, Jackson, Lac qui Parle, Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood, Rock, Swift, and Yellow Medicine.

The Southwest Minnesota Workforce Development Board is a leader in CareerForce, Minnesota’s unified workforce system and guides the design of local workforce development including oversight of CareerForce locations in Marshall, Montevideo and Worthington. Board priorities include: addressing the shortage of skilled workers through sector-based career pathway approaches; increasing service levels and outcomes for individuals experiencing employment disparities; expanding partnerships with local school districts to increase career awareness, career counseling and work-based learning opportunities for students and parents; and increasing employer engagement through sector-based partnerships.



The Workforce Development Board meetings are held at 4 PM in the following months: February, April, June, August, October and December.

Agendas and Minutes

southwest minnesota workforce development board’s RegionalCouncil Work Plan

Private Sector

John Roiger, Chair
Dawson, MN
Lac qui Parle County Private Sector

Len Bakken, Vice Chair
Worthington, MN
Nobles County Private Sector

Robyn Leese, Secretary
Montevideo, MN
Chippewa County Private Sector

Andy Easley
Balaton, MN
Lyon County Private Sector

Carla Goedtke
Slayton, MN
Murray County Private Sector

Anne Johnson
Redwood Falls, MN
Redwood County Private Sector

Rahn Larson
Windom, MN
Cottonwood County Private Sector

Melissa McGinty-Thompson
Benson, MN
Swift County Private Sector

Tim Paulson
Pipestone, MN
Pipestone County Private Sector

Curtis Rethwisch
Lake Benton, MN
Lincoln County Private Sector

David Rogers
Ortonville, MN
Big Stone County Privat Sector

Dawn Schnell
Jackson, MN
Jackson County Private Sector

Jeffrey Varcoe
Canby, MN
Yellow Medicine County Private Sector

Brad Vaughn
Luverne, MN
Rock County Private Sector

Ad-Hoc Representatives

Diana Anderson
Hutchinson, MN
 Economic Development

Eric Austin
Luverne, MN

Rhonda Brandt
Montevideo, MN

Terry Gaalswyk
Worthington, MN

Tim Jones
Marshall, MN
 Community Based Organization

Kirby Kruse
Windom, MN

See Moua-Leske
Marshall, MN

Dawn Regnier
Canby, MN

Mimi Schafer
Hutchinson, MN
 Rehabilitation Services

Chuck Swanson
Granite Falls, MN
 Community Based Organization

Beth Wilms
Marshall, MN
Health & Human Services

Reggie D. Worlds
Mankato, MN
 Wagner-Peyser Services